Best Soccer Goalie In History

By Woodland Soccer Team •  Updated: 08/09/22 •  6 min read

We may earn money or products from the companies mentioned in this post.

No one knows who the best soccer goalie in history is. There have been some amazing goalkeepers in the history of soccer. But who is the best? Many people would say that it is Peter Schmeichel, who was a goalie for Manchester United and the Danish national team.

How do you compare goalies from different eras? There’s no definitive answer, but that doesn’t stop people from arguing about it. What we can agree on, however, is that there have been some amazing goalkeepers throughout history. Here are just a few of them.

The Best Soccer Goalie Of All Time

Lev Yashin

There have been many great soccer goalies throughout history, but there is one that stands out above the rest. Lev Yashin was a Soviet goalkeeper who played for Dynamo Moscow and the Soviet Union national team. He is widely regarded as the best goalie of all time, and he has some impressive stats to back it up. In his 22-year career, Yashin only conceded 1.32 goals per game.

He also holds the record for most clean sheets in a career, with 270. In addition to his impressive stats, Yashin was known for his acrobatic saves and his calm demeanor under pressure. He was nicknamed “the Black Spider” because of his black uniform and his ability to web the ball away from opponents. Yashin’s remarkable career earned him numerous accolades, including the Ballon d’Or in 1963.

He was also named FIFA Goalkeeper of the 20th Century and one of the greatest players of the 20th century by the IFFHS. There is no doubt that Lev Yashin is the best soccer goalie of all time.

Peter Schmeichel

Peter Schmeichel is widely regarded as one of the best goalkeepers in history. A towering figure with an imposing physical presence, Schmeichel was known for his exceptional reflexes and shot-stopping ability. He was also a superb communicator and leader, often organizing his teammates from the back.

During his career, Schmeichel won five Premier League titles, three FA Cups, and the UEFA Champions League. He also represented Denmark at two World Cups and two European Championships. In 1999, he was named FIFA World Goalkeeper of the Year, and in 2004 he was inducted into the English Football Hall of Fame.

In 2013, he was named by Pelé as one of the 100 greatest living players. There is no doubt that Peter Schmeichel is deserving of his place among the greatest goalkeepers of all time.

Petr Cech

Petr Cech is widely regarded as one of the greatest goalkeepers in history. He has won numerous accolades and titles throughout his career, including four Premier League Golden Glove awards and the Champions League Golden Glove. Cech is known for his superb reflexes, shot-stopping ability, and leadership.

He has been an ever-present force in Chelsea’s backline for over a decade, and his contributions have helped the Blues to multiple Premier League titles and a Champions League trophy. Cech has also been a key player for the Czech Republic national team, winning over 100 caps for his country. There is no doubting Petr Cech’s status as one of the greatest goalkeepers of all time.

David Seaman

David Seaman is widely considered to be one of the best soccer goalies in history. During his 22-year career, he won numerous awards and set several records. He played for some teams but is best known for his time with Arsenal, where he helped the team to win two Premier League titles and three FA Cups.

Seaman was known for his quick reflexes and agility, which helped him to make some truly incredible saves. In addition to his physical ability, Seaman was also known for his mental toughness and nerves of steel. He was once quoted as saying, “The higher you go, the more important it is to keep a level head.”

This level-headedness helped him to remain calm under pressure and make crucial saves when it mattered most. Thanks to his accomplishments, David Seaman is considered by many to be the best soccer goalie in history.

Edwin Van Der Sar

In a sport where one mistake can mean the difference between winning and losing, goalkeepers are under immense pressure to perform at a high level. Over the years, there have been many great goalkeepers who have managed to rise to the challenge and become legends of the game. However, there is one goalkeeper who stands above the rest: Edwin van der Sar.

Van der Sar began his career with Ajax in the early 1990s and quickly established himself as one of the best goalkeepers in the world. He helped Ajax win four consecutive Dutch league titles, as well as the 1995 Champions League. In 1999, he moved to Italy to join Juventus, where he won another league title. After a brief spell with Fulham in England, van der Sar returned to Holland to join AFC Ajax in 2009. He retired from professional soccer in 2011 after an illustrious career that saw him win 22 trophies.

What sets van der Sar apart from other great goalkeepers is his incredible consistency. Throughout his career, he made just over 1,000 appearances for club and country and only conceded an average of 0.54 goals per game. His record for most clean sheets in a season (22) still stands today, and he is also the oldest player ever to win the Champions League (40 years and 205 days). In 2009, he was named UEFA Club Goalkeeper of the Year, becoming the first—and only—goalkeeper to win the award on three occasions.

Nigel Martyn

Nigel Martyn is widely considered to be one of the best soccer goalkeepers of all time. A versatile and reliable player, he was equally adept at both protecting his net and setting up attacks with his accurate passing. Martyn began his career with Bristol City in 1985 before moving on to Crystal Palace in 1989.

It was during his time with Palace that he began to establish himself as one of the top goalkeepers in the English game. In 1990, he helped the team win promotion to the First Division, and he went on to win the Player of the Year award in 1991.

He also spent time with Leeds United and Everton before finally retiring from the game in 2006. During his 21-year career, Martyn amassed an impressive collection of trophies, including an FA Cup winners’ medal and a League Cup winners’ medal. He was also capped 23 times by England. Nigel Martyn is undoubtedly one of the greatest goalkeepers in soccer history.


There is no denying that Lev Yashin was one of the greatest goalkeepers of all time. During his career, he was known for his acrobatic saves and his ability to keep calm under pressure. He was also a gifted shot-stopper and helped to revolutionize the way that goalkeepers played the game.

In addition to his many accomplishments, Yashin is also remembered for his sportsmanship and humble nature. He was truly a once-in-a-generation talent and will undoubtedly go down as one of the best soccer goalies in history.


Woodland Soccer Team

We're a team of soccer experts, fans, coaches, and players. The world's game is our game.